Rage Across the Cape

Out of Character => House Rules & Rules Discussions => Archived Rules Discussions => Topic started by: Nike 'Slays the Patriarchy' Strilakos on August 11, 2014, 12:48:04 pm

Title: quickdraw
Post by: Nike 'Slays the Patriarchy' Strilakos on August 11, 2014, 12:48:04 pm
question

i have gotten conflicting reports abut quickdraw - you just have it and can use it or quickdraw you can use it as many times as you have dots.

ruling?
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Matt (HST) on August 11, 2014, 12:51:52 pm
My understanding is that you burn a use of the Ability each time you quickdraw something.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Gabriel on August 11, 2014, 02:00:10 pm
We should clarify that - I was told precisely the opposite, that it didn't need to be burned for me to use. Which is important, since it means I use it way too much if that's incorrect. Plus, looking at the house rules, I realize that dammit, I always forget about the initiative bonus!
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Matt (HST) on August 11, 2014, 03:14:17 pm
If it doesn't need to be burned when used, why does it need to be an Ability with levels? The initiative bonus is binary (you possess the Quickdraw Ability, or you don't) and there aren't any situations where one would need to expend the Ability to "retest Quickdraw." I guess if you were making the Physical Challenge against 7 to switch weapons in combat, you could use it for that?

It's a good question.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Gabriel on August 11, 2014, 03:28:14 pm
Except that per the house rules, it removes the need to make that Physical challenge. *shrug* I'm not saying "I'm right, you're wrong", simply noting what I was told, which could have been a miscommunication, or a rushed answer (as I recall, it was right before the hive raid). If I've been doing it wrong, I will endeavor to do it right, and buy more levels in it, too. Hell, it gives me a reason to buy high enough to specialize, too.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Mike on August 12, 2014, 09:28:55 am
You are supposed to chop to quickdraw and use it as a retest.
Part of this was me forgetting that when talking to Ana during game.

You can quick draw with the ability as much as you want.
Retesting however does not have infinite applications.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Gabriel on August 12, 2014, 09:36:27 am
That represents a change from the house rules, which explicitly say the ability removes the need to chop.

Quote from: House Rules
Quickdraw Ability
Possessing the Quickdraw Ability puts the challenger up two traits for the purposes of initiative.  In some cases, this may serve as a tie-breaker for other "I go first" situations like multiple characters tied with the Gift: Spirit of the Fray.

Quickdraw also allows the challenger to draw/switch weapons as a free action during combat.  Normally, without the use of Quickdraw, drawing/switching weapons after combat begins would be a static Physical test against 7 Traits.  drawing/switching weapons is always a free action outside of combat rounds.

By taking a specialization in Quickdraw, for example, "Quickdraw x3 (Pistols)", the challenger will be considered one additional Trait up, as normal, for the purposes of initiative when the weapon of specialization is being used.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Mike on August 12, 2014, 09:38:15 am
This house rule should have already been scrapped in the great clean up of 2014. 

I'm keeping it in line with every single other ability in the game.  You chop to use it, you retest if necessary.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Gabriel on August 12, 2014, 10:07:49 am
Does that mean the initiative bonus is gone as well? Not that I ever remember that I have it to use, but it would be nice if I could start remembering it.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Mike on August 12, 2014, 10:12:55 am
Yeah I believe it to be cracky and not needed.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Nike 'Slays the Patriarchy' Strilakos on August 12, 2014, 05:20:27 pm
ok so, if i have quickdraw, i get a retest on the chop to switch weapons?

if so, can i sell it back?  i sorta bought it on faulty info :P
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Mike on August 13, 2014, 10:28:12 am
You can sell it back, I don't care.

Without quickdraw you must spend an action drawing a weapon or switching a weapon.
With quick draw you get a simple chop to do both.  Retest with quickdraw.
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Nike 'Slays the Patriarchy' Strilakos on August 13, 2014, 10:47:51 am
Wait I thought you said everyone got a chop to try to draw?  Now I am confused
Title: Re: quickdraw
Post by: Mike on August 13, 2014, 11:37:45 am
No never said everyone, I was saying how the ability works.
Just like blindfighting, you can chop to blind fight if you have the ability and retest with it so on and so forth.